The Director (song for the stage)

 

V

This is my show

I wrote the script

It is my show

The scales have tipped

I’m not so enraptured with tales that I’ve captured

And stolen and passed as my own

 

V

This is my movie

I wrote the sets

A high budget thriller

As good as it gets

I couldn’t be happier my name’s on the map, yeah

And everyone know who I am

 

I’m the director, the chief inspector

Tip of the ice berg, if only you knew

I didn’t forget yer, I’m coming to get yer

Top of the bill it’ll be honey

Me and you

 

This is my novel

I wrote the pages

I do it for pleasure

The pleasure of wages

They may not be funny but they bring in the money

I ain’t quite as dumb as I seem

 

This is my film

I wrote the lines

Oscar-winning performance

Ahead of it’s time

I knew I could muster a Hollywood Blockbuster

Challenge too big to resist…

 

C

 

(RR – 2000)

Leave a Reply

