I’m Afraid

I’m Afraid

C

I’m Afraid, I’m Afraid,

Said the girl with the bike to the boy with the broken spade

I’m Afraid, of the night

And I won’t sleep until I see the comfort of the light

V

My mother died when I was born

My father he’s long gone

I trawl these streets and gather what I can

Can’t look people in the eye

I’ve got no money, my mouth is dry

But I want to make it to a man

V

I lost my aunt and mother,

A soldier shot my brother,

I see his face in every open door.

I’ve got no-one to turn to

But I know I’ll learn to

Cope with the horrors of this war,

C

The boy said I won’t leave you, and I will try to feed you

And he found some scraps outside a door

The cook came out to beat him, batter and defeat him

And left the boy in tatters on the floor

 V

The girl helped him to his feet

They wondered lonely down the street

Each one the other one’s cover

The girl looked him in the eye

Said “boy I don’t want to die”

I’ll be your sister, if you’ll be my brother

C

Leave a Reply

