Capital Quake

Now the dust has settled
The wreckage is confirmed
I’ll paint you a picture
The one for which you’ve yearned

The streets are full of rubble
The town can barely stand
Struggles from the pile-ups
Cuts on peoples’ hands

I’ll tell you ‘bout the day time
It’s desolate and grim
The shadows are a highlight
Respite from sullen dim

I’ll tell you ’bout the night time
It’s hollow and it’s raw
The icy winds compound them
And chill them to their core

A naked child confronts me now
With anger in his eyes
He leads me to the building
Where both his parents died

The concrete pillars crumbled
The staircase burnt to ash
The boy lays all his belongings
Scattered on the grass

His eyes ask me a question
His mouth remains tight shut
Villagers approach us
From their makeshift hut.

To them am I the reason
The symbol, or the cause?
The one that runs their wells dry?
The one who closes doors?

They don’t want my money
For my lifestyle, they don’t care
They simply want their freedom
And returned to them what’s theirs

Leave a Reply

