Twilight Days

I wrote this song lying on a hard bed on a sleeper train travelling from Guangzhou to Guilin, South China, in December 2002. I had just had the idea of the passing of time and twilight, maybe because it was dark outside, so started putting pen to paper. I had got to the end of the first verse when all the lights on the train were suddenly turned off by the conductor. Still, when you think you have a good idea and have a pen and paper in your hand, you should carry on. So I did. Some days later I deciphered what I had scrawled in the pitch black, and I think it went something like this….



We’re sitting in the cast of a shadow

The sax is feeling the mood

The waves outside are crashing on the sea front

We’re inside enjoying our food

 

Your eyes hold a truth in a whisper

They sparkle like the wine in your hand

Your lips send a shiver down the back of my spine

My heart’s beating quicker than the band

 

Will it be like this forever?

Will your face be the thrill of my gaze?

Will your palm seem so pure, when our time is fewer

When we’re in our twilight days?

 

We talk like we could talk for hours

Your voice is a cure to my ears

And the words that you say, won’t ever go away

Till the day they’ll reduce me to tears

 

You lead me up to the dance floor

You dance with such eloquence and grace

And we laugh at a joke we remembered

Your laughter illuminates the place

 

Will it be like this for ever?

Or will laughter turn in to dismay?

And will the joke seem so funny

When we’re in our twilight days?

 

We finish the meal and the liquor

And the waiter brings us the bill

You say shall I go back to your place

And I nervously say that I will

 

You bring out the tea and the coffee

We relax in more comfortable chairs

And my heart beats so fast, it could be my last

When you say, ‘shall we go upstairs’

 

Oh will it be like this forever?

Or is it just a passing phase?

Will I lust for your body, your soul and your mind

When we’re in our twilight days?

When we’re in our twilight days.

Leave a Reply

